Add news
To all the news
Society 12.11.2019
459
Did the doctors learned to predict death?

Did the doctors learned to predict death?

The development of artificial intelligence began to move beyond the limits of the possible. Doctors in the US have developed a neural network that predicts death is more likely than doctors. To unravel the future, you need to show the cardiogram of a human neural network and that will make a conclusion about his future situation. The principle of functioning of system of artificial intelligence is not yet clear.

 

Testing occurred in Pennsylvania, in a specialized medical facility Geisinger under the leadership of Brandon Fornwalt and his colleagues. The neural network was programmed in the study of 1.77 million results of an electrocardiogram (in total about 400 000 people) to predict death of patients within the next year.

 

After the neural network has performed an analysis of the electrical activity of the heart, she separated those patterns that have changed from heart disease, including heart attacks and atrial fibrillation. Under study were two of the neural network: from raw data of ECG and ECG data in combination with age and gender of patients.

 

To measure performance, the researchers used the AUC, through which you can understand how well the AI was able to distinguish patients who died during the year and those who survived. The neural network has consistently scored above 0,85. This indicator is used to assess risks doctors. They have it varies from 0.65 to 0.8 points. The data obtained confirm that the program accurately predicts death, unlike doctors, however, to calculate the calculation algorithm program and failed.

 

After researching Brandon Fornwalt said - “this discovery shows that the algorithm picks up things that people probably can't see, or at least ignore and think it's okay. Artificial intelligence can potentially teach us things that we may have misinterpreted for decades.”

Author: Вероника Лелюк

Comments

arrow

Добавить новость
Ко всем новостям
Общество 12.11.2019
350
Неужели медики научились предсказывать смерть?

Неужели медики научились предсказывать смерть?

Развитие искусственного интеллекта начало переходить за грани возможного. Медики из США разработали нейросеть, которая предсказывает смерть вероятнее, чем врачи. Чтобы разгадать ближайшее будущее человека, необходимо показать кардиограмму человека нейросети и та сделает вывод о его дальнейшем положении дел. Принцип функционирования системы искусственного интеллекта пока не ясен. 

 

Тестирования происходили в Пенсильвании, в специализированном медицинском учреждении Geisinger под руководством Брэндона Форнвальта и его коллег. Нейросеть запрограммировали на изучение 1,77 млн результатов электрокардиограммы (в общей сумме - это порядка 400 000 человек), чтобы предугадать смерть пациентов в течение следующего года. 

 

После того, как нейросеть провела анализ электрической активности сердца, она отделила те паттерны, которые изменились от сердечных заболеваний, включая сердечные приступы и мерцательную аритмию. Под исследование попало две нейросети: с необработанными данными электрокардиограммы и с данными ЭКГ в сочетании с возрастом и полом пациентов.

 

Для измерения эффективности, ученые использовали показатель AUC, благодаря которому можно понять, насколько хорошо ИИ смог отличить пациентов, которые умерли в течение года, и тех, кто выжил. Нейросеть неизменно набирала выше 0,85. Данный показатель используется для оценки рисков врачами. У них он варьируется от 0,65 до 0,8 баллов. Полученные данные только подтвердили, что программа точно предсказывает смерть, в отличие от врачей, однако, просчитать алгоритм вычисления программы так и не удалось. 

 

После исследования Брэндон Форнвальт сказал - “это открытие показывает, что алгоритм улавливает вещи, которые люди, вероятно, не могут увидеть или, по крайней мере, игнорируют и думают, что это нормально. Искусственный интеллект потенциально может научить нас вещам, которые мы, возможно, неправильно истолковывали десятилетиями.”

Автор: Вероника Лелюк

Комментарии

arrow